Uncategorized

Organizing classes in C#


I was doing a quick research on C# coding conventions and I found one rule that comes back in almost all coding conventions I came through: Always put fields (aka private members) at the top of the class definition.

I am not sure of the reasons to do this. Let me explain why I usually advocate the other way around: order properties and methods from the more accessible to the less accessible.

A class has two types of users:

  1. developers writing the code of the class (usually one or two developers max),
  2. developers who are ‘clients or users’ of the class (the rest of developers and other guys maintaining the software).

I consider that in the total lifecycle of a project, there might be much more developers of the 2nd type than of the first one.

When you use a class or try to maintain it (refactor it or try to find out about what it does to understand the code), you are not interested in private members. You rather focus on public methods and/or properties (concepts of black box that exposes services). Then, if you need to go further, you will probably have a look at the internals of the class. For this reason, I really prefere, when I open a class file, to directly have all interesting information ride away. Just right there and not have to scroll down.

For me this is a consequence of OOP programming and the encapsulation principle.

I would really appreciate comments… Am I the only one who advocates this? It is not a big deal and I gave up on this subject for the moment- however, I generally do not like the argument of ‘This is the standard!’ (which is the only one I got so far). I rather like the real reason underneath it but could not find anything explanation on this rule except a fellow who told me that this was a C++ programmers’ standard who did not have really the choice otherwise the compiler did not compile (I did not verify this argument yet).

2 thoughts on “Organizing classes in C#”

  1. When I used to program with VB6 (a non-OOP language) I always used to do this, along with extensive documentation about the variables. It proved invaluable to other developers and also to me when returning to old code of mine.

    But when I started out with C# a senior developer told me that the convention urged by Microsoft was to only define variables when you needed them.

  2. You mean that you write code such like:

    private string _privateMember;

    public void Method()
    {

    }

    private string _privateMember2;

    public void Method2()
    {

    }

    and so forth… ??
    What about private members used in different methods. You declare them prior to the first use?
    Is there any justification behind this standard?

Leave a Reply

